Day 9: New Year’s Resolutions, Talking, and Words

is irritated. Oops, started that like a Facebook status update. That’s a bad sign – means that translating my thoughts and emotions into Facebook status format has become second nature. Oh dear.

Lameness test: Throughout the day, when you see or do or think something, do you often think about status-ing it and so try to remember that event for when you next log on? (or if you have Facebook Mobile the question would be: Are you constantly updating your status with things you’re seeing, doing, and/or thinking that no one really needs to know about?) Guilty. But I don’t have Facebook Mobile, THANKFULLY, because if I did I know I would over-post.

Next question: Do I write words and words on this WordPress that don’t really benefit anyone graciously coming over here to read, nor does it benefit me who could be preparing for sleep right now?

Mark Twain once said, “I didn’t have time to write a short letter, so I wrote a long one.” I feel like that quote epitomises this blog, especially as of late. Most of my posts in this Christmas series have been written in the wee hours of the morning, after I work my eyes out on essays (more figurative than actual, unfortunately) or couchsurfing requests, so they’re rushed, shallow, and verbose. I know that in my very first post to this site, way back when – which you probably haven’t gone back far enough to read, which is a good thing – I said this space would be very stream-of-consciousness style, but I’m considering reneging on that and holding myself to something higher. That would mean devoting more time, which means it probably won’t be happening before the sixteenth of this month. But it is helpful to be think about these things now, because once vacation hits it’s so easy to stop thinking.

That’s why New Year’s resolutions fail so hard, isn’t it? Because they’re made in an atmosphere dissimilar to the rest of life?

I haven’t really done the whole New Year’s resolution thing for most of my life, usually because I get a late start, and because I tell myself I don’t need a special occasion to change, which usually results in no occasion of change. Maybe this year I’ll give it a serious go.

Starting with the goal of being less verbose. To choose my words carefully. To not broadcast trivialities, on Facebook, on here, or in actual conversations. And you can hold me to that.

But there are two sides to this 2011 constitution. The first is to say less of what doesn’t need to be said, but the latter is to say more of what needs to be said. I shy away from that so often, and that really doesn’t help me or others at all. Honesty is a rare and roaring fire in this world.

Among the people that know me I think some would say I talk a lot, and some would say I talk very little. I agree with both, and offer this first New Year’s resolution as a remedy. I would ask you guys what your resolutions are shaping up to be, but you know how unpleasant it is to ask a question that no one answers.

Oh, one more point, because my last sentence reminded me of something I’ve thought for a long time but rarely have the chance to say (and I’ll do my best to make it seem to connect). If you’re finding yourself in a position of leadership but don’t quite know how to fulfil it; say, if you’re in your final year of high school (college) or you’re a more senior member in some kind of group: answer the questions. If a teacher or speaker is asking questions, answer them. Don’t ignore them because you consider them simple and ‘beneath you’. If it’s an easy question meant to have an easy answer, give that easy answer to make the speaker’s point so they can carry on. If it’s a question meant to provoke thought, be the daring first to venture a guess, just to open the floor for more timid others. Time spent waiting for people to answer a question they know the answer to is wasted time.

If you’re getting into small groups to share or pray (this is for a specific setting but those of you it applies to will know what I’m talking about) avoid the awkward moment of everyone looking at each other unsurely by jumping in to start it off.

I’m not just saying talk to fill silence with words, because silence and thinking time are important. But I think we know the difference between the times when we’re thinking and the times when we really just don’t want to be the first to speak. Don’t be so cynical and aloof; take the fall, be a hero.

If you know me you should know that this is strange advice to come from me, because I’m cynical and aloof; the type to hold back and let someone else speak or answer first. But then I became a senior and realised there was no one to wait for; others were waiting for me. And there are more important things to life than trying to act cool (remind me of that every time you see me, okay?) Step into that leadership role, if only by overcoming your personal preferences and facilitating opportunities for others.

So, in recap, I spout words far too carelessly in conversation, and to an even greater extent in conducive environments like Facebook and this blog. I’m going to make a conscious effort to say less, but say more with less. One of the ways I can increase the worth of me opening my mouth is by identifying when something needs to be said (like when others are waiting for someone to go first) and what needs to be said (a harder task, but one that will develop over time through training myself to say life’s important things – I know what they are, I need to share them).

Hey, maybe this post is actually somewhat cohesive and meaningful! Maybe I’m already making headway, or maybe I just got lucky tonight, er, this morning.

Leave a comment